"Chain Letters" by Big Harp | Album Review

Posted by HN staff on Wed, 01/09/2013 - 10:44am in album review, big harp, chain letters, dan mccarthy, music, nebraska

[Editor's note: Chain Letters will be in stores on Jan. 22. Preorders were shipped on Jan. 8, and the album can be purchased via Saddle Creek.]

by Dan McCarthy

This new Big Harp album, Chain Letters, is a lot nastier than the first one, White Hat. Consider this Coen brothers-ish bit from the first song: "Every shit car pullin' back onto the road / Squealin' its tires and gunnin' for home / Leavin' behind it some shit baby too new to crawl."

The song is called "You Can't Save 'Em All," and the unfortunate roadside orphan is just one in a list of the lost, a list that also includes a yachtsman "afloat on the sea like a flake in a tank" and an acolyte on her knees, "bobbin' in front of the prophet that holds her in thrall."

It is amazing what the band does in this not-long song, telling at least four different dreadful stories, coming back to a kick-ass chorus enough times that you can sing along during your first listen, and there's just enough time for a filthy guitar solo. The distortion on the organ and bass sounds gritty as hell; the distortion on the guitar sounds like it broke.

I love this record. I love this band. They are friends of mine, and I'm not trying to be objective.

Look at this song, the fourth one, "Good News." It's got a wacky time signature — I'd call it 11/8 — but it makes you want to dance. And it's a come-on-let's-party song, as far as I can tell, in which the singer addresses the listeners as deer. As in, the four-legged woodland creatures. I defy you to play the bass guitar part that happens during the solos.

Actually, here's what you should do with this record, in order from hardest/most rewarding to easiest/bare minimum:

1. Learn all of the songs, by heart, on an instrument of your choice. You will, at that time, be an incredible musician.

2. Figure out how Chris Senseney does that soulful thing with his voice, called melisma, that Whitney Houston could do with credibility but pretty much everyone since has tried to sell and failed, including every contestant ever to sing on TV: Figure out how Chris S. from Nebraska pulls it off.

3. Buy the record and listen at least once while paying attention to the liner notes.

On that last (and like I said, bare minimum) one: I'm sure I'm beyond fuddy-duddy on liner notes, but for instance, in the song "Outside in the Snow," there's a line that I thought was "you got to stand outside Kenosha in the snow." You know, Kenosha, Wisconsin. I bet it snows a lot there. Wrong. Thank heaven for (1) liner notes, and (2) the Internet, because the line is "you got to stand outside Canossa in the snow," and it turns out Canossa, Italy, has its own interesting medieval history and Wikipedia entry. This record doesn't require research, but it does reward curiosity. Like every decent record should.

My only reservation in recommending, or, like, hyper-hyping this record is that I did play a tiny bit of accordion on it, and nothing sounds shittier than somebody tooting his own cheap horn. But whatever, you won't notice the accordion. There is so much great stuff on this record, on every song.

Dan McCarthy works for himself, and his boss is a jerk. Keep up with his music on McCarthy Trenching's Facebook page.

Comments

bhpollerty on Sat, 04/19/2014 - 11:00am

The more active special ideas

The more active special ideas will submit the closer things on your way and you spend simply the error part to fix them.

Regards

Steve Jones

fast views

jonesjeferi336 on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 9:20am

You should proud to your self

You should proud to your self for having able to write down some really wonderful tips and hints. Great articles, I think it would be a good asset. Unquestionably been having more things opened colonne de douche

jlukeadan on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 1:38am

this blog post is sensational

this blog post is sensational one to get a depth of knowledge i admire the writers creative release here an awesome one here

Garcinia Cambogia Walgreens

jlukeadan on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 1:37am

Interesting topic shown here,

Interesting topic shown here, i am now working on it regularly here and would say keep the future posts like this continusoly.

stores that sell garcinia cambogia
what stores sell garcinia cambogia

jlukeadan on Wed, 04/16/2014 - 1:36am

Excellent topic to have a

Excellent topic to have a short review, i am certainly impressed while having a look on to it and everyone needs to follow it now on

where to buy garcinia cambogia
where can I buy garcinia cambogia
 

steve7876 on Tue, 04/01/2014 - 5:11am

Pass bee Media wallet

The revolutionary record is often a very little diferent comparing while using aged goods, however i Pass bee Media wallet can really claim that it record is way better, it is older I think, nonetheless it is simply my opinion. It's not possible to spend less them all is definitely the tune on the record.

pokim on Sat, 02/22/2014 - 9:15pm

beautiful song , i hope it

beautiful song , i hope it can be the best album never see.

Harga HP Samsung

Visit website 

visit website

humortum on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 2:38am

birthdaygiftshopping.org

Striper Pro Shops usually are not just regarding bass fishers. In reality, Bass Expert Shop retailers, while not at all times the initial thought that concerns mind any time somebody will be conjuring up gifts is a great angle which could and probably is highly recommended because of these wide variety of stock. birthdaygiftshopping.org

humortum on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 2:37am

becomingalawyer.org

Many individuals are not the greatest fans of these own careers, they grow to be to dislike it a growing number of or basically get bored to death of sitting in the dead conclusion job without prospects. A job change may be daunting because it requires lots of time, effort and sometimes money. becomingalawyer.org

humortum on Mon, 02/17/2014 - 2:35am

autopriceguide.org

big t is well regarded that Parker Automobile Price Guide could be the trusted magazine because the leading buyer car value guide in britain. All rates, data and also specifications on this magazine are usually researched and compiled by a expert vehicle and also independent staff of generator trade professionals. autopriceguide.org

steve7876 on Tue, 01/28/2014 - 11:00pm

apple ibeacon

Thank you for carrying this specific probability to focus on this specific, I feel fervently apple ibeacon relating to this and I like learning about this specific topic. If possible, while you gain information, remember to up-date this site to comprehend.

losvags110 on Mon, 01/20/2014 - 1:40pm

Nice sharing

That is the unofficial effort made by him. Funding may be secure and it may no. of the students demonstrated on bestessays scam because these links may help you to find the original website. This is the perfect place to share the internal movement of funding and non-profit organizations.

steve7876 on Mon, 01/13/2014 - 5:41am

Houlteninstitute.com

The actual audio within this fresh lp is precisely the audio of which I would like to listen to. It's got a lot more melody of which Now i'm utilized to. The very Houlteninstitute.com first by yourself lp was as being a tweak at first connected with precisely what I want to to try and do in addition to We couldn't really arrive, but today We ultimately reached where by Now i'm pretty much 100% happy with this kind of lp.

jacek on Tue, 12/17/2013 - 10:01am

Mera Information   Dear HN

Mera Information

 

Dear HN staff, just wanted to tell you that you are doing an amazing job. Thank you for everything!

alone17 on Sat, 12/14/2013 - 7:42am

My only booking in

My only booking in suggesting, or, like, hyper-hyping this history is that I did perform a small bit of accordion on it, and nothing appears to be shittier than somebody tooting his own inexpensive horn. But whatever, you won't find the accordion. There is so much excellent things on this history, on every song.  free netflix

loin on Wed, 12/04/2013 - 11:43pm

Thanks for taking this

Thanks for taking this opportunity to discuss this, I feel fervently about this and I like learning about this subject. If possible, as you gain information, please update this blog with more information.https://www.rebelmouse.com/undeniablepassion/

loin on Mon, 12/02/2013 - 7:53am

Pronto you can shop a urge

Pronto you can shop a urge oar accompanying helms, a lower wieldy snow hollow, or a snow scoop that aspects.kindlefinds.com

loin on Mon, 12/02/2013 - 7:51am

kingstonatnight.com/

We stumbled over here by a different website and thought I should check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page for a second time.kingstonatnight.com/

evanb4s on Tue, 11/26/2013 - 2:39am

Big Harp released their

Big Harp released their sophomore album Chain Letters on January 22 via Saddle Creek. The album was recorded at Omaha's ARC studios with engineer Ben Brodin and partly at the band's Los Angeles home. equipos de perforación

RingKing on Fri, 11/22/2013 - 4:43am

I love the site and stand by

I love the site and stand by it.It's a meanigful website to learn something important which i want to know.Hope for your next update.Sourcing products in Africa often means working with under payed African farmers who often receive only a pittance for their hard work. One of Zambeezi’s goals is to reduce this gap by ensuring that farmers and workers involved in making its ingredients and products receive a fair and living wage for their work. Yes,i agree with your view.It is very difficult to find all information about Pakistan at one place and I have run exhaustive search but could find appropriate stuff, however this website provides very good information and should be shared with all those.- Bell & Ross

loin on Tue, 11/19/2013 - 5:07am

The author has written an

The author has written an excellent article. You made your point and not much to discuss. It's like this universal truth that you can not argue with the truth is not universal, everything has its exception. Thanks for this information.line-sticker.com

casper111 on Thu, 10/31/2013 - 6:16am

This is the first time i got

This is the first time i got to read about the Big Harp album and i liked checking on the information related to their latest flick and albums . This is perfect article that has been shared online. Good one for all music lovers.tech support windows

Lipoen09 on Sat, 10/05/2013 - 10:45pm

thanks

Online reading is not my thing. But after reading your blog I am really pleased. I don’t know about other blogs but this I will definitely keep coming back to. Lipozene

Lipozene666 on Tue, 10/01/2013 - 5:29am

Lipozene

I am very much overwhelmed by your thoughts for this particular story. A more deeper and staged knowledge would be good for me     Lipozene

Lipozene666 on Tue, 10/01/2013 - 5:26am

Lipozene

Another great post, I appreciate all the work you put into this site, helping out others with your fun and creative works. Lipozene

sweeneyvivian on Thu, 09/19/2013 - 1:13am

Music has been part of our

Music has been part of our daily life. It makes our life more alive and it helps to relieve our stress every single day. I am hoping that I can get one copy of this album sooner. custom suits los angeles Thank you so much. custom wardrobe designer

victor6112 on Thu, 08/29/2013 - 8:22pm

Info

The new album is a little diferent comparing with the old stuff, but i can actually say that this album is much better, it's more mature I think, but it is just my opinion. You can't save them all is my favorite song of the album. Sie mehr

Natalia Red on Fri, 08/16/2013 - 3:28am

The music on this new album

The music on this new album is exactly the type of music that I want to hear. It's got a lot more melody that I'm used to. The first solo album was like a tweak in the beginning of what I wanted to do and I couldn't really get there, but now I finally got to where I'm almost 100% happy with this album.

Increase instagram photo likes

chynawilliam on Wed, 07/24/2013 - 7:52pm

I am very impressed with the

I am very impressed with the knowledge you are posting here. Thanks for sharing and let us know more about new releases. Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable research with everyone. get facebook photo likes

Blakefeld on Thu, 07/04/2013 - 10:04am

You probably get into my

You probably get into my interest about this album 'Chain Letters' by Big Harp. I was looking for this reviews since then, I want to know how people really love to learn and play with these songs in this album and I found that you've got one, your playing it using your accordion. That's sound very interesting. I want to hear it, if you are wiling to share it with us. Thank you. - get soundcloud plays